Posted by: Jo | February 22, 2013

Unconditional Love

“Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword?” (Romans 8:35)

imageThe promise of unconditional love from the Heavenly Father, is the hardest concept for me to understand. I can understand being loved when I am involved in some wonderful ministry or when I am helping others or when I am being particularly noble etc.(I even quite like myself during those rare moments), but it is in those other moments that I struggle to grasp how deep and wide is the Father’s love. Those days when my thoughts are ugly, my words mean spirited and I am mainly thinking more of myself than those around me. Then I not only don’t like myself, I wonder how God could possibly put up with me. It is during that time that I get a tiny glimpse of what it means by God’s grace. Brennan Manning has a beautiful phrase that seems to encompass those moments; “Grace stands waiting” or another powerful description from Max Lucado. “Being in the grip of grace” What a relief it is to feel his grace always waiting to flood over us. What a relief to know that we are held so tightly in his grip that his grace will never be separated from us. What a relief to know that we do not have to earn by great effort his grace, it is freely given. Eugene Peterson in The Message, sums it up this way;

Now God has us where he wants us, with all the time in this world and the next to shower grace and kindness upon us in Christ Jesus. Saving is all his idea and all his work. All we do is trust him enough to let him do it. It’s God gift from start to finish. We don’t play the major role If we did we would probably go around bragging that we’d done the whole thing. No we neither make nor save ourselves. God does both the making and the saving.

God’s grace is described in all different ways in scripture, but in each description there is a touch of grandeur, and extravagance of phrase. These are the words I found; grace is lavished upon us; grace is poured out as an overflowing of goodness; grace is abundant no stinting; grace is like a garland of flowers to adorn one’s neck; grace is glorious; it comes like a refreshing shower on a hot day; grace is the touch of the Father’s hand to sooth a troubled brow; grace never leaves a believer’s side.

When we grasp the quality of God’s grace and only then can we believe that God’s love for us is most definitely unconditional.

“I am the thorn in Your crown
But You love me anyway
I am the sweat from Your brow
But You love me anyway
I am the nail in Your wrist
But You love me anyway
I am Judas’ kiss
But You love me anyway”

You Love Me Any Way, Sidewalk Prophets

Responses

  1. How Blessed we are Jo ! Thankyou for your constant reasurance of Gods love ,even through a difficult time of yor own. You truly are an inspiration!
    Much love to you and Alex

    Like

  2. Very reassuring Jo. Something we need very much as we get older and wonder if we are ever going to be any “better”!
    Regards – Jo

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories