Posted by: Jo | February 7, 2014

The Spoken Word

“…so is my word that goes out from my mouth, it will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.” (Isaiah 55:11)

image When my granddaughters were little girls, they loved me telling them stories in which they featured. I would make up all sorts of exciting adventure stories and of course they were the brave heroines who were able to rescue the little elf or discover a hidden village of little people deep in the forest, or find that lost kitten who was trying to find its mother, etc. One evening I was minding two of them and when it was time to go to bed, I asked them if they would like me to read them a story. Immediately one of them cried out, “No Nana tell us a story from your mouth.” They were not able to put into words that a story about themselves spoken by somebody who loved them was far better than one read from a book. We have someone who loves us and longs for us to hear the words from his mouth, our Heavenly Father.

The words coming from the mouth of our Heavenly Father are the most powerful in all creation. When God spoke the universe came into being;

“And God said, “Let there be light,’ and there was light.” (Genesis 1:3)

God chose to speak to Abraham and opened the door by doing so for all mankind to hear the words from his mouth.

“The Lord had said to Abram, “Leave your country, your people and your father’s household and go to the land I will show you.”” (Genesis 12:1)

God also chose to place his words into the mouths of those he knew would be faithful in telling others of his great love for them.image

“I will raise for them a prophet like you from among your brothers; I will put my words in his mouth, and he will tell them everything I command him.” (Deuteronomy 18:18)

We too, have been given the incredible privilege of being able to access God’s word and then a gift, we often overlook, of being able to allow those words to fill our own mouths. Being able to speak Scripture is a powerful tool against evil. It is a powerful way of bringing about healing in broken relationships. It is a powerful way of asking for forgiveness. We need to absorb the word of God so we can call on its wisdom when we most need it.

The Psalmists knew how important it was to know and heed the word of God;

“I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.” (Psalm 119:11)

imageLearning Scripture gives us a reservoir of strength we can keep within ourselves to dig into when we most need it. When we pray back Scripture to the Lord, in prayer, we unite ourselves with his thoughts. Many of the psalms are in the form of a prayer and when we use them as prayer to the Father we are uniting with countless believers before us. Many years ago a committed Christian friend shared with me that to have a verse from the Bible on your bedside table to read on waking, was an incredible way of starting the day with God’s word in one’s mouth.

Praying God’s word over your children or grandchildren provides them with a cover of blessing. Praying God’s word together with others strengthens everybody’s awareness of who the Mighty God is, just by having his word in our mouths. Even reciting Scripture out aloud has a calming effect on the speaker and praising the Lord with his own words is the ultimate praise.

“May my lips overflow with praise, for you teach me your decrees. May my tongue sing of your word, for all of your commands are righteous.” (Psalm 119:171 – 172)

Responses

  1. I loved this blog Mum! I love when you pray over baby D, especially before I put him to bed. I know that he must have the sweetest dreams.

    Like

    • Thank you, Darling, I love praying over him

      Like

  2. You have such an incredibly beautiful way of sharing Gods own words Jo ! Thankyou ! Much love jennifer.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories