Posted by: Jo | September 19, 2014

Entering Into His Covenant Love

“..O, Lord, God of Israel, there is no God like you in heaven above or on earth below- you who keep your covenant of love with your servants who continue wholeheartedly in your way.” (1 Kings 8:23)

image As I was waiting in the line-up at the supermarket, I couldn’t help but hear an interesting exchange between a young boy and his mother. On the one hand the boy was pleading with his mother with exaggerated hand waving and exclaiming loudly, “I promise I will. I promise I will.” His mother was replying in a well-controlled voice and manner and I guessed she was outlining her side of the conditions she had for him, before she agreed to the boy’s request. The line moved and unfortunately I was unable to witness the ending to what was obviously some sort of pact between two people who loved each other, but with the older and wiser person guiding the younger and less experienced. I was thinking about this little interlude in my day, when our Home Group began grappling with the meaning of God making a covenant with his people. We all agreed that if God was promising anything, we all knew he would keep his side of the bargain. We were not so sure of mankind keeping his side.

I think the key to understanding God’s beautiful offer is in the way Solomon described what it actually was, using these words, “a covenant of love” (1 Kings 8:23) I found a beautiful description of how this covenant works in one of my favourite psalms . Psalm 91. The psalm outlines the two sides of the covenant; our side and the Lord’s side.

The psalm begins with a beautiful description of where we can chose to be if we want to be a recipient of the promises of the Mighty God’s covenantimage

“He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High…” (Psalm 91:1)

The word, “dwell” means much more than just abiding or living. It means being in the presence of the Lord at all times. This is the first step for us to make

But look at God’s side! He then promises us that when we make this decision, we will constantly be close enough to be shaded by his presence hovering over us and protecting us.

“…will rest in the shadow of the Almighty” (Psalm 91:1)

Our side is found in the next verse, “my God in whom I trust

First we choose to be with him then the next step is to trust him, but look at the amazing promises from the Lord’s side. We need not fear “the terrors of the night.5”. We can run “under his wings for refuge4”. “His faithfulness will shield us from danger4”. If disaster in any form is looming in our life look at this promise.

“For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways; they will lift you up in their hands, so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.” (Psalm 91:11 – 12)

image Again God’s promise to us is found in verse 15

“I will be with him in trouble. I will deliver him and honour him.”

Our side of entering into this covenant of love seems so small when we look at the enormity of the promises on the Lord’s side. We need first to choose to dwell with him. Then trust him. Then we need to love him and acknowledge his name and call to him in prayer and then wait for his blessings to flow through our lives.

“Because he loves me,” says the Lord, “I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name. He will call upon me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble. I will deliver him and honour him.” (Psalm 91:14 – 15)

Responses

  1. The picture of the swan is wonderful to illustrate “under his wings for refuge”. That is the image which will remain with me for the week. Thank you Jo. Nature so often gives us a glimpse of the eternal!

    Like

  2. I felt my heart swell with your reminder of how much the lord loves each of us that puts our trust in him. Thank you once again Jo. I am so blessed to know you and receive your knowledge of the Bible to confirm how blessed we are to put our trust in Him.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories