Posted by: Jo | August 14, 2015

Admitting How Much We Need Him

“And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.”

(Philippians 4:19)

image Our worship service this last Sunday morning was filled with an incredible sense of oneness. We were singing one of my favourite contemporary songs, based on the old hymn, O, Lord How I need Thee, the modern version uses these words, every hour I need you, and as our voices rose together, I was surprised to realise the tall, young teenager beside me was wiping a tear from his eye and as I stole a look around at other members, raw emotion was etched upon many faces. I saw a wide range of ages from elderly men to young parents, grandmothers, business women, young people, but what was unifying us all was the realisation of how we all needed the Lord Jesus Christ and the fact that we were in a sacred place where we felt safe in expressing that emotion.

The world would tell us a different story even to confining the needy to a position where they are pitied or looked down upon. The world would tell our young people to strive to be self-sufficient, never admitting any weakness, constantly promoting the idea, you can make it on your own. God’s word has quite the opposite message. King David is a remarkable example of a mighty powerful ruler who acknowledged his complete dependence on God’s help and had no shame in admitting how much he relied on the grace and mercy of his Heavenly Father.

“I cry aloud to the Lord; I lift up my voice to the Lord for mercy. I pour out my complaint before him; before him I tell my trouble.” (Psalm 142:1 – 2)

God accepts David’s humble acceptance of help by calling him A man after his own heart. so the Lord welcomes us all to share whatever is troubling us and loves it when we take him into our confidence, and we don’t have to pretend we have it altogether, admitting we need help is not a sign of weakness, but is actually a sign of wisdom to go to straight to the strongest source of help available to mankind.

When we realise our own neediness we become much more aware of the needy around us and are braver to admit to others how we need to lean on the Lord and as the song describes it, not a one off thing, but constantly every hour I need you, encouraging others to do the same.

One of my favourite verses on this subject is found in Hebrews which points out that we can confidently come to the Lord(the King James version says “boldly” come), not wondering if we should be bothering our Father about our own concerns, but expecting to be flooded by grace and mercy.image

“Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.” (Hebrews 4:16)

I know the tears I witnessed through our Church’s song were an outward sign of deep thankfulness for such a loving, caring Saviour.

Responses

  1. Thank you Jo. We need you to keep your blog going to keep reminding us of the help that is always present.

    Like

  2. Dear Jo,
    Right at this time I am having trouble completing a task I have indertaken. Pride hurt and confidence shaken. Your words buck me up and tell me what I should be doing. Thank you – and have a great family wedding celebration.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories