Posted by: Jo | August 12, 2016

Longing To Worship

“I rejoiced with those who said to me, “Let us go to the house of the Lord.”

(Psalm 122: 1)

image This Sunday during our service, our congregation sang a powerful song I had not heard before and the lyrics played over and over in my mind all day. The phrase that struck me was

I long to worship You

I began to think deeply as to what that phrase actually meant. When I was a child I can remember adults discussing some besotted young man and his young lady in these words, “He worships the very ground she walks on.” I could not fathom what that could possibly mean. I have also heard, as an adult, the word used in a derogatory manner, “He just worships money”. I decided to check the dictionary to see what the true meaning was, this is what I found;

  • To adore with apparent acts
  • To regard with extreme respect
  • Filled with adoration and to venerate.

Always the Psalmists help me to grasp the deeper meaning of walking with the Lord and David has a beautiful description of what worshipping our Heavenly Father means;

“Ascribe to the Lord, O families of nations, ascribe to the Lord glory and strength, ascribe to the Lord the glory due to his name. Bring an offering and come before him; worship the Lord in the splendour of his holiness.” (1 Chronicles 16: 28 – 29)

So again reflecting upon our song I wondered how we can reach the point in our spiritual walk where wanting to worship turns into a deep emotional longing which needs to be expressed.

David tells us to ascribe the glory to the Lord his name deserves. In our present society unfortunately his name often gets very little respect and is often even used as slang or as a swear word. Jesus taught his disciples and us the importance of revering his name in the Lord’s prayer;

“Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name.” (Matthew 6: 9)

image When we treat his name with reverence, we are performing an act of worship. Other acts of worship can take many different forms. David tells us to bring an offering and come before him. The Heavenly Father has no need of gifts or money, but what is most pleasing to him is when we come before him and offer ourselves to him. When we love someone deeply we long to praise them to tell them how much we love them. Telling the Lord just how much we love him is a sweet act of worship. I found the words of the Sunday song and they really speak to me of true worship.

I have not come

To ask you anything

Except for the privilege to

Glorify your name

Let my singing and my prayers to you

Fill you up

O, God that you might be satisfied

I long to worship you

I long to worship you

To stand in your courts and tell

How marvellous you are

To you I raise my hands

I want to lift you up

Here in your presence Lord

I long to worship you

Responses

  1. The sentence in this blog which I shall carry with me all week is – Telling the Lord how much we love him is a sweet act if worship”. Thank you for expressing it so well, Jo.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve sometimes wondered why God needs our worship but you have explained why very well. Thank you Jo.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

Categories

