Posted by: Jo | June 9, 2017

Walking Humbly With The Lord

“Walking Humbly With The Lord.”

(Proverbs 11: 2)

Humble01Last week we had a wind-up brunch for the Women’s Bible Study, organised by our Church. It is a large number of ladies who meet together for worship and then break up into small groups with a leader, to study God’s word.  In September of last year, I had no intention of joining, until my daughter pressured me to come with her, as she was joining the Mom’s Group, also part of the wider study. I am ashamed to say my reluctance was based on pride. I have had extensive training in Bible study and have led many groups over the years and felt there was no need for me to attend yet another one. In the midst of my arrogant thinking I came across a saying of St. Ignatius, I had recorded many years ago and I was suddenly ashamed of what I had been thinking. Here are St Ignatius’ words;

In these days God taught me like a school teacher teaches a pupil. I remind myself that there are things that God has to teach me yet, and I ask for the grace to hear them and let them change me. 

After reading these words I asked for the grace to humbly join the study and my reward has astounded me. I met a delightful group of sisters in Christ who have shown me love and acceptance and have inspired me by their devotion and their dedication to God’s word.  One of the big lessons the Lord helped me with, was to keep quiet (still learning) and listen, rather than air my knowledge.

I often return to the Psalmists with all their wonderful wisdom and one of my favourites is Psalm 25

“He guides the humble in what is right and teaches them his way.” (Psalm 25: 9)

Teaching us his way, is exactly what the Lord Jesus Christ did when he said these words;

“Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” (Matthew 11: 29)

If the King of Kings and Lord of all can be humble we have an incredible example to follow.

Humble02Over and over the Israelites in the Old Testament forgot to practice humility and took things into their own hands and made decisions without consulting God, believing in their arrogance that they knew best. Our present society is still doing much the same and we need to heed these words that God spoke to Solomon and learn to walk humbly with the Lord.

“If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.” (2 Chronicles 7: 14)

 

Responses

  1. You make me consider Jo that we can – with humility – learn from our children and grandchildren. That’s not easy! We do think we know more than they do – but perhaps our dear Lord has things to tell us through their mouths. Your message is always sound. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you, Sylvia

    Like

  3. Humbleness, a challenge to remember. I find I have much to be humble about! A great lesson for today, Jo, thanks for this.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

Categories

