Posted by: Jo | October 8, 2017

Awake! My Soul!

 “Awake, my soul! Awake, harp and lyre! I will awaken the dawn.”

(Psalm 57: 8)

MySoul01One morning this week, I awoke early, before the sun had risen and that beautiful, pre-dawn stillness filled the air. I decided to go out for a little while and sit on our balcony and as I sat down, my eyes were drawn to the sky and I was amazed to see stars twinkling everywhere I looked. Vancouver, where I live, does not often treat us to such a spectacle as this. Rain, cloud, mist, heavy fog in winter is more likely to feature in the view we have from our apartment! As I gazed at God’s incredible handiwork, I felt a deep stirring within me and felt I started to understand what David was writing in Psalm 57 about that inner part of ourselves that responds to the Father’s love, our souls.

The soul is that inmost part of our being and Scripture always differentiates it from what else makes up our earthly bodies. When Moses is talking to the Israelites he says this about how we are to love God;

“Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with your soul and with all your strength.” (Deuteronomy 6: 5)

MySoul02Jesus repeats this to his disciples again urging them to love the Lord God with the deepest most inner part of their bodies.;

“…Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.” (Matthew 22: 37)

When David cries out for his soul to awake, he wants to feel deep love flowing between the Father and his inmost being. This deep connection to the Father’s love is available to all of us, but sometimes we have hidden that most personal part of our being deep within us and lead a superficial relationship with the Lord, wary of the intimacy that opening that door of our soul might bring.

David certainly had no fear of intimacy with God and is humble enough to admit that in his darkest hours he becomes like a child who clings to a parent when he or she is afraid;

“Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings. My soul clings to you; and your right hand upholds me.” (Psalm 63: 7 – 8)

Our Ladies Bible Study at our church is studying Prayer this Fall and using Phillip Yancy’s book*, “Prayer, Does It Make Any Difference?” as our MySoul03guideline. Prayer is certainly the most effective way to open our souls to God and this book shows not only for our own benefit, but to take the deep love and compassion we receive as we open our souls to him, to all those around us.

“Praise the Lord, O my soul, all my inmost being, praise his Holy Name.” (Psalm 103:1)

 

Responses

  1. The last words of your reflection here mean a lot to me Jo – reminding us of the deep love we receive from God as we open our souls not only to him, but to all others around us. Not easy – but we will try, encouraged by you! Thanks Jo.

    Like

  2. As always I appreciate your gentle reminder Jo,to love the Lord with all our mind and strength.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

Categories

